Index Page Find us on Facebook  Find us on twitter  Follow our RSS Feed
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:53 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2014 11:19 pm 
Offline
New Member
New Member

Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 11:14 pm
Posts: 3
Hi all im hoping someone can help me here I'm having some issues with a fiesta I have its a 1995 now I have been routing underneath the dash and the wiring is a bit of a mess now that I can sort out

my main problem is my ecu location and its wiring harness coming from the engine and going into the car

here's a picture of what my engine looks like can anyone confirm the proper type engine I have

Image

now if you notice in the top right hand corner behind the shock tower the rubber cover with the wiring going through it now my car is the same as this has the same rubber cover

but the ecu I have looks like this this is my actual ecu I have at the minute

Image

but this doesn't bolt up to anywhere underneath the dash. I have looked and looked.
The only thing I have found is that certain other model fiestas are fitted with a different type of ecu fitting as seen in this picture which my ecu would fit up to

Image

now im trying to figure out what has gone on with my car before I had it
has someone fitted a different loom and ecu and just bodged it in to get the car to run
can I get a different loom that will fit my car properly and mount up properly to the right ecu so that I don't have a gaping hole where the wires are coming through to the ecu

any help much appreciated


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2014 11:09 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 12:40 am
Posts: 7093
Location: Portsmouth
Drives: Fiesta Si 2.0
You have a HCS engine.

Im pretty sure the ecu still bolts up ended the bulk head on these like all other models.

On the last picture I'm pretty sure you have the same mountings.

_________________
Image
TTF Si Project thread

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 9:56 am 
Offline
New Member
New Member

Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 11:14 pm
Posts: 3
cheers Danny for clearing the engine info up

I have a funny feeling the loom has been a bit butchered a bit as I have found more wiring butchered together im going to source a new new loom for the dash and engine bay as this is like spaghetti junction

as for the ecu I've looked and looked and im not sure its even the right ecu for the car or the right wiring loom tbh


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 7:43 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 12:40 am
Posts: 7093
Location: Portsmouth
Drives: Fiesta Si 2.0
Thinking about it, I believe the ECU goes up in the drivers footwell on these. There is a large round rubber grommet in the same place on the drivers side of the bulk head. Check there because I'm 99% sure the wiring loom goes through there to the ECU.

_________________
Image
TTF Si Project thread

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 9:22 pm 
Offline
Regular Poster
Regular Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:08 pm
Posts: 185
Location: south wales
Drives: 2.0 fiesta azura
On my hcs the ecu was still bolted in the passengers side sames as any other fiesta if your interested in a loom i still have a full loom out of a 1.1 hcs

_________________
Image
blunty


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 7:49 pm 
Offline
New Member
New Member

Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 11:14 pm
Posts: 3
- Danny Boy - wrote:
Thinking about it, I believe the ECU goes up in the drivers footwell on these. There is a large round rubber grommet in the same place on the drivers side of the bulk head. Check there because I'm 99% sure the wiring loom goes through there to the ECU.


ive no room on the drivers side for the ecu as there is a load of wiring already there


blunty wrote:
On my hcs the ecu was still bolted in the passengers side sames as any other fiesta if your interested in a loom i still have a full loom out of a 1.1 hcs


my ecu was dangling in the passenger foot well and there's wires been chopped and some fuel cut of switch is also dangling down there what money have ya on the loom I need to get it sorted other wise im just going to scrap the car the more I go looking at stuff the more bodges I find


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 6:39 pm 
Offline
Regular Poster
Regular Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:08 pm
Posts: 185
Location: south wales
Drives: 2.0 fiesta azura
Where you located to mate

_________________
Image
blunty


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2014 6:55 pm 
Offline
Poster
Poster

Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:57 pm
Posts: 80
sorry to drag this up again, but no one has mentioned that the first pic is a left hand drive model, you can see the dash in the window


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron