Index Page Find us on Facebook  Find us on twitter  Follow our RSS Feed
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:10 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: cams issue
PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2014 4:16 pm 
Offline
Poster
Poster

Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:05 pm
Posts: 91
Some fast questions:

I have 2 sets of cams laying around here.

1. Kent sport cams... 262 degrees and 9.34 mm of lift ( both sides )
2. Piper cams............ 264 degrees in and 260 out. 10.03 mm lift in and 9.32 out

Which one will be better ? kent say's that the have 20 bhp and piper12 bhp profit

can I use a piper cam and kent cam together ? so piper 10.03 lift inlet and kent 9.34 exhaust side ?

Also fitted with vernier pulley's


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: cams issue
PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2014 5:34 pm 
Offline
FSI Poster
FSI Poster

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:43 pm
Posts: 888
Location: Norwich
Drives: 2litre Si
Are you using them in a 1.6 or 2 litre? I would stick to using them in the manufactured pairs as that's how they would been designed and little differance in exhaust cams, seems quite a diffetance in stated gains on a simular spec but can't take stated gains as gospel. I have 270 newman cams with 10.79mm lift and they needed some head modifications for the lift clearance

_________________
Will
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: cams issue
PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2014 6:51 pm 
Offline
Poster
Poster

Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:05 pm
Posts: 91
it's a 1800 with bigger valves etc


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: cams issue
PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2014 7:21 pm 
Offline
FSI Poster
FSI Poster

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:43 pm
Posts: 888
Location: Norwich
Drives: 2litre Si
Razer wrote:
it's a 1800 with bigger valves etc
bigger valves and ported head? What injection carbs? I'm looking to replace cams with 285 ones but the 270 gave a good spread

_________________
Will
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: cams issue
PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2014 7:33 pm 
Offline
Poster
Poster

Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:05 pm
Posts: 91
indeed, ported,polished and bigger valves
Rover turbo inlet with frst injectors

hmm, if you want to sell them, when you bought the 285, let me know


Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: cams issue
PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2014 7:53 pm 
Offline
FSI Poster
FSI Poster

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:43 pm
Posts: 888
Location: Norwich
Drives: 2litre Si
Looks good, what ecu are you using? I have a spare new set of cams that were using for a spare engine, have you already got 2 sets? What power you expecting? As for vernier pullys thought they not worth it unless having them set on RR, is that a silvertop with blacktop cam cover?

_________________
Will
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: cams issue
PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2014 8:34 pm 
Offline
Poster
Poster

Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:05 pm
Posts: 91
yes a silvertop wth blacktop cover
just the standard one..but it's chiped. Looking for an omex or dta

I have almost got 2 sets.. next one is on his way ( I hope, the bloke isn't f*cking with me )

With all the mods, I hope 150 bhp or more, thing goes like a rocket
as for the vernier, it's easy'r to set up on a rolling road. can do with normal ones....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: cams issue
PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2014 9:02 pm 
Offline
FSI Poster
FSI Poster

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:43 pm
Posts: 888
Location: Norwich
Drives: 2litre Si
I spent £100 on vernier pullys but still set them with the standard in keyed settings, got 173bhp with emerald ecu, but that was ,£550 with a 2 litre want to swap cams to get over 180

_________________
Will
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: cams issue
PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2014 9:16 pm 
Offline
Poster
Poster

Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:05 pm
Posts: 91
that's what I like from an NA engine, about 180 bhp
vernier pulley's and piper cams where 170 quid together...not allot :)

what's your setup ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: cams issue
PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2014 9:25 pm 
Offline
FSI Poster
FSI Poster

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:43 pm
Posts: 888
Location: Norwich
Drives: 2litre Si
That's a bargin, 2 litre, DIY ported head, gsxr throttle bodies and emerald ecu

_________________
Will
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: cams issue
PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2014 9:28 pm 
Offline
Poster
Poster

Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:05 pm
Posts: 91
the kent cams where 20 euro (think that is 12 quid )
hmmm... maybe with a aftermarked ecu I also could get at those marks :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: cams issue
PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2014 10:54 pm 
Offline
Driving Gods
Driving Gods
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:37 pm
Posts: 7771
Location: Manchester
Drives: C2 VTS
Am I missing something, cam cost more tan that surely?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: cams issue
PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2014 7:24 am 
Offline
David Dickinson's Naughty Bit
David Dickinson's Naughty Bit
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 9:08 pm
Posts: 8807
Location: Bournemouth
Drives: Fiesta ZS
Brand new they do. Not Second hand

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: cams issue
PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 6:35 pm 
Offline
Poster
Poster

Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:05 pm
Posts: 91
He didn't know it was a kent cam..thats why it was that cheap


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron