Index Page Find us on Facebook  Find us on twitter  Follow our RSS Feed
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 6:54 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 65 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 1:12 am 
Offline
Poster
Poster

Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 11:45 am
Posts: 63
Location: Dartford
Drives: 16v Si & S2 RST
it seems my 1.6 lump has finally given up, smoking very badly now, so im going to drop a new lump in at the weekend, luckily my mate broke a 1.8 xr2i and still has the engine, maf, tb, ecu etc... will i need to swap the injectors over still?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:10 am 
Offline
The Sherminator!
The Sherminator!

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 6:10 pm
Posts: 22211
Location: Somewhere
imo i'd just drop/swap what ever is on the 1.8 16v engine into your engine bay eg, inlet,maf,injectors, tb etc.

but you might have an issue with the ecu, as iirc the 16v 2i's might be similar if not the same as the RS1800 and come with external edis, where as the 16v Si is internal, so you might have to swap the engine bay loom as well with all the sensors, easy enough when you dont have anything in the bay ;)

if i'm wrong i'm sure someone will correct me :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:39 am 
Offline
Poster
Poster

Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 11:45 am
Posts: 63
Location: Dartford
Drives: 16v Si & S2 RST
ah that might be a prob then as hes only got the engine, inlet, exhaust manifold, tb, maf and exu left over

it will probably work out cheaper to do the 2L if ive got to start changing looms about, plus im opnly paying my brother £50 to swap it :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 11:41 am 
Offline
The Sherminator!
The Sherminator!

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 6:10 pm
Posts: 22211
Location: Somewhere
it will work on the 1.6 Si ecu, i know the 2.0's work on the 1.6 ecu but the fueling isn't right, iirc it leans out on the top end

but imo if your chaning engine i'd go for a 2.0 its not that much more difficult than dropping the 1.8 in, unless you can get hold of a 16v 2i loom then you can slap some 2.0 cams, 2.0 tb and maf on the 1.8 and have a 130bhp spec(pretty much the same as the RS1800)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:05 pm 
Offline
Poster
Poster

Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 11:45 am
Posts: 63
Location: Dartford
Drives: 16v Si & S2 RST
it might be a pain in the ar*e sourcing all the required parts in time really, tbh i just need to get it running so ive got it for work, its only going to be a daily driver in the next few months anyway

a friend of a friend might be picking up a 1.6 zetec escrt estate, so hopefully thats the silver top and not the black top engine and ill just drop that in. ill prob do the usual bits to make it breathe more easilly, ive got a decat pipe already waiting to go on. is there any interchangable parts from the 1.8 2i that will help? inlet, exhaust mani, tb?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:08 pm 
Offline
Poster
Poster

Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 11:45 am
Posts: 63
Location: Dartford
Drives: 16v Si & S2 RST
[quote="onslack"] it will work on the 1.6 Si ecu, i know the 2.0's work on the 1.6 ecu but the fueling isn't right, iirc it leans out on the top end

but imo if your chaning engine i'd go for a 2.0 its not that much more difficult than dropping the 1.8 in, unless you can get hold of a 16v 2i loom then you can slap some 2.0 cams, 2.0 tb and maf on the 1.8 and have a 130bhp spec(pretty much the same as the RS1800) [/quote]
actually now youve said that, what if i use all the bits my mate has and get a mondeo 1.8 ecu from the scrappy? would that work and take away the probs you said about?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 1:08 pm 
Offline
The Sherminator!
The Sherminator!

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 6:10 pm
Posts: 22211
Location: Somewhere
Stu wrote:
is there any interchangable parts from the 1.8 2i that will help? inlet, exhaust mani, tb?


everything from the silver top zetecs is interchangable, but how they perform on the car is another matter, as ideally you want the correct ecu to deal the correct fueling etc etc.


Stu wrote:
actually now youve said that, what if i use all the bits my mate has and get a mondeo 1.8 ecu from the scrappy? would that work and take away the probs you said about?


you could try that and see if it works, only thing you'll have to look out for is if the 1.8 mondeo ecu has external pats or not as thats the issue we have with the 2.0 conversions, only 3 known ecu's from 2.0 mondeo's work with the Si's wiring etc

but as to which 1.8 ecu's work i dont have a clue, suck it and see i guess :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 6:09 pm 
Offline
Donator? Ejaculator!
Donator? Ejaculator!

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 1:23 pm
Posts: 11348
Location: Lincoln
Drives: MK1 Focus Estate Ghia
If your gonna xr2i 1.8 zetec engine it... and you have access to all the bits..

Just do a full change of everything including loom as I bet the xr2i has external pats

But fear not!!

Most of the RS1800 ECU's are for external pats. (which are cheap)

So all you'd need is the MAF, TB, RS1800/Escort 130spec GTI/2.0ltr CAMS, and RS1800 external pats ECU and your sorted ;)

(Although the 130spec Escort GTI ECU's will work... Not sure if they are internal or external EDIS or not.. I'm guessing internal because they were the last model so would work on the Si wiring loom)


OR.


You could fit the xr2i 1.8 zetec engine, and run it on the 1.6 ECU on the current internal edis loom.
Just don't try go near the redline as it would lean out and send it wappy.. Although I ran mine for 3 months like this!

Then you could upgrade it to 130spec and either run it with a DESK DEWY or DEEP 2.0ltr ECU (as I have seen a few people run the 130 spec 1.8's with no problems - which would be easier to get hold of...) or get hold of an internal EDIS RS1800 ECU which is code CULT (admitedly rare as rocking horse poo..)



I'd say 2.0ltr it for the sake of it... but if all the parts are there from the XR2i 1.8 then its rude not to. 105bhp to start with :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 7:34 pm 
Offline
Poster
Poster

Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 11:45 am
Posts: 63
Location: Dartford
Drives: 16v Si & S2 RST
[quote="happypaul"]
You could fit the xr2i 1.8 zetec engine, and run it on the 1.6 ECU on the current internal edis loom.
Just don't try go near the redline as it would lean out and send it wappy.. Although I ran mine for 3 months like this!

Then you could upgrade it to 130spec and either run it with a DESK DEWY or DEEP 2.0ltr ECU (as I have seen a few people run the 130 spec 1.8's with no problems - which would be easier to get hold of...) or get hold of an internal EDIS RS1800 ECU which is code CULT (admitedly rare as rocking horse poo..)

[/quote]this does sound like a good option actually as for 1 he would practically give it to me anyway and the other bits shouldnt be too pricey

just so ive got this right the only other bits i would need are;

dewy/deep/desk ecu
2.0L maf
2.0L TB
2.0L injectors/rail
130 spec cams

he did say when he picked the car up to break, it was alot quicker than his current 1.8, the fella he got it from said about a stage 2 head (he said he doesnt beleive anything he said as hes known to exaggerate) but it may even possibly have the 130 cams, is there markings on the ends to tell what they are?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 7:51 pm 
Offline
Donator? Ejaculator!
Donator? Ejaculator!

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 1:23 pm
Posts: 11348
Location: Lincoln
Drives: MK1 Focus Estate Ghia
Do a search on here or FT.com

They have the codes for the cams.

Both the 130spec 1.8 ones and the 2.0ltr cams are identical tho.



You dont need the 2.0ltr fuel rail of Throttle body.. although you can mod the 2.0ltr TB to fit if you want to do that.

The zetec fuel rails are the same on all the fiesta's, its just the injectors that are different flow rates.

Soo...

dewy/deep/desk ecu (or RS1800 CULT if you want to run on the Si loom)
2.0L maf (If your going 130spec, you'll need the proper maf if running 1.8 ECU, or 2.0ltr MAF if using 2.0ltr ECU)
2.0L TB (dont need it, but it will fit with modding)
2.0L injectors/rail (fuel rails are the same..just get the 130 spec injectors or 2.0ltr ones. although tosave the ecu playing up.. if using 1.8 ecu get 130 spec ones, or if using 2.0ltr ecu use the 2.0ltr injectors)

I think that makes sense.. it does to me anyway :lol:
130 spec cams


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 8:15 pm 
Offline
The Sherminator!
The Sherminator!

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 6:10 pm
Posts: 22211
Location: Somewhere
check in here for all the parts you require :halo:

viewforum.php?f=10


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 8:42 pm 
Offline
Poster
Poster

Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 11:45 am
Posts: 63
Location: Dartford
Drives: 16v Si & S2 RST
cheers for the info, much appreciated :)

[quote="onslack"]check in here for all the parts you require :halo:

viewforum.php?f=10[/quote]if all goes well and i get the engine ill prob have a couple of bits off you, have you got the injectors as well?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 8:45 pm 
Offline
The Sherminator!
The Sherminator!

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 6:10 pm
Posts: 22211
Location: Somewhere
stick a post up in my thread and i'll answer there ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:49 am 
Offline
Poster
Poster

Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 11:45 am
Posts: 63
Location: Dartford
Drives: 16v Si & S2 RST
i should finally be picking up the engine in the next day or so ready to be dropped in at the weekend :)

it comes with 2L cams (which need to be fitted)

so do i need the sensors or anything like that from the 1.8/2L or will the 1.6 ones be fine?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:12 pm 
Offline
Poster
Poster

Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 11:45 am
Posts: 63
Location: Dartford
Drives: 16v Si & S2 RST
ive got my 1.8 in the bay but struggling to get the spline and flywheel to mate together..

i think i may have made a school boy error (please tell me i havent lol)

i think its still got the 1.8 mondeo flywheel on the block, will this cause a prob? as i would rather not pul it out to have to change it over


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 8:49 pm 
Offline
Elite FSI Poster
Elite FSI Poster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 1:21 pm
Posts: 1285
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
You need to have the fiesta flywheel I'm afraid mate!!

The mondeo one is too big to fit in the fiesta gearbox!!

Sorry dude, looks like a change is needed.

Paul :halo:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 9:13 pm 
Offline
Poster
Poster

Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 11:45 am
Posts: 63
Location: Dartford
Drives: 16v Si & S2 RST
it went in fine in the end, i just read somewhere that the 1.6 and 1.8 flywheels are the same unless its the 1.8 130 spec then thats the same size as the 2L


now ive just got the prob of 3 missing engine mount bolts lol


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 9:14 pm 
Offline
New Member
New Member

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 12:44 pm
Posts: 36
Location: North Weald Essex
2.0L injectors/rail (fuel rails are the same..just get the 130 spec injectors or 2.0ltr ones. although tosave the ecu playing up.. if using 1.8 ecu get 130 spec ones, or if using 2.0ltr ecu use the 2.0ltr injectors)

I have jsut fitted the 1.6 inlet maniflod onto a 2.0 and having running problems so far. Getting very hot and not idling well. Would people say that the change should include swapping the injectors - from the old black 1.6 ones to the beige ones from the 2.0??

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 4:29 pm 
Offline
New Member
New Member

Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 9:48 pm
Posts: 20
what sensors would you use from the 1.6si block tomake it compatable to the 1.8 silvertop ive just bought?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:46 pm 
Offline
New Member
New Member

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 12:44 pm
Posts: 36
Location: North Weald Essex
the crank angle sensor on the rear of the block that sees the fly wheel, thats the big one to make sure you sort out. but then depending on what flywheel! I would suggest you read the thread here on the swap to 2.0 as the majority is going to apply to you. I used the smaller oil filter no problems with the chassis

_________________
Fezzie Si 1.6 1995
Powerflow exhaust (cat back), Gentle Body Mods, Oh and the audio.......


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 65 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron