Index Page Find us on Facebook  Find us on twitter  Follow our RSS Feed
It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 8:58 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 8:57 am 
Offline
Out of the closet
Out of the closet

Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 1:40 am
Posts: 6276
Location: Southport
Drives: Ash Black Fiesta si 1.4
Gents.

Car broke down lastnight in the form of cruising along and it just cutting out with the engine management light showing its face. Wouldn't start so rang rac and waited. During the wait i tried it again, low and behold is started! Yet with the engine management light still on. So I nursed her home - the journey, which was only minutes, was just a normal drive, no issues as per before.

Rac guy arrived, did his checks, master resit to get rid of the engine management light but no, didn't disappear. Yet the car was running fine, revving fine, even took her out for a spin. So I awoke this morning (having to had to take it off work as I wasn't risking it cutting out on the m6) and it will start but cuts out straight away.

It will hopefully be making it's way to a friends garage later to get plugged in and checked, however I want to see if any of you lot have the faintest bit of a clue at what it may be?

Thanks in advance

_________________
Image
fifi


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 10:58 am 
Offline
Elite FSI Poster
Elite FSI Poster
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 6:18 pm
Posts: 3409
Location: West Sussex. Drives: Too many man sized cars!!
Drives: Sideways
Have a search on the VAG forums.
All faults are well documented.

Can't remember whether injectors throw a code if they're on the way out, but again all should be covered.
MAF is a favourite, but never heard of it causing cutting out, not without ignoring other signs of it dying for a prolonged period.

Can't be any more specific I'm afraid. Did all the research before I bought mine, but its been 100% reliable so have forgotten most of it (now I've gone and done it :doh: )

_________________
AUTOBAHNSTORMERS
Some people are like slinkies. Not really good for anything, but bring a smile to your face when pushed down the stairs!
ImageImageImage
From the moment I picked up your book until I laid it down, I was convulsed with laughter. Some day I intend reading it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 11:01 am 
Offline
Elite FSI Poster
Elite FSI Poster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 1:21 pm
Posts: 1284
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Could be anything mate!!
VAG cars are full of sensor and electronics which will trigger the EML and without a decent code scan (VCDS/VAG-Com rather than a cheap OBD code reader) you'll now know for sure.

MAF wouldnt cut you out, you would just get histation when at certain throttle positions as the Air/Fuel ratio wouldnt match what the ECU is expecting.

It's probably just a sensor that's gone tits up but you'll never know which one until its plugged in.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 11:32 am 
Offline
Out of the closet
Out of the closet

Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 1:40 am
Posts: 6276
Location: Southport
Drives: Ash Black Fiesta si 1.4
Alright gents. Thanks for your replies. Woodsy, my main scare was that it was an injector. Luckily it's not. EGR valve is caked in shit and I need a new fuel pump relay. So the EGR valve is being blanked and a new relay is on its way.

_________________
Image
fifi


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 1:38 pm 
Offline
Driving Gods
Driving Gods
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:37 pm
Posts: 7771
Location: Manchester
Drives: C2 VTS
I will say many problems would cause limp mode rather than a complete stop.

Hope you get it figured/sorted.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 10:29 pm 
Offline
Out of the closet
Out of the closet

Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 1:40 am
Posts: 6276
Location: Southport
Drives: Ash Black Fiesta si 1.4
Thanks Andy.

Fuel pump relay has been replaced, however the same fault code remains. Looks like it is somewhere in the wiring.

_________________
Image
fifi


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 11:47 pm 
Offline
Driving Gods
Driving Gods
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:37 pm
Posts: 7771
Location: Manchester
Drives: C2 VTS
Has anybody read the fault code? they usually point in the right direction, past that sometimees they need to be reset after work has been done.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:11 am 
Offline
Elite FSI Poster
Elite FSI Poster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 1:21 pm
Posts: 1284
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Get yourself onto some VAG forums and find someone near by who has VCDS and can do you a fault scan.
They'll do it for a few beers :thumbsup:

Then get yourself here http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index.php/Category:Fault_Codes and look the DTC up, it'll give you whats wrong and possible causes.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2014 8:56 pm 
Offline
Out of the closet
Out of the closet

Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 1:40 am
Posts: 6276
Location: Southport
Drives: Ash Black Fiesta si 1.4
Yeah Andy checked it last night. Looks like an issue with the ECU so i'm going through the painful process of having to wait for the ECU to be tested, then to see if I need a new one.

Ta Paul, had a look on some VAG forums last night, seems as though a couple had exactly the same fault codes as me, which resulted in their ECU's being fucked. Which is why i'm so confident mine is

_________________
Image
fifi


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 8:58 am 
Offline
Elite FSI Poster
Elite FSI Poster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 1:21 pm
Posts: 1284
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Do you have the codes to hand? If so what were they out of interest?

Paul


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 9:10 am 
Offline
Elite FSI Poster
Elite FSI Poster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 1:21 pm
Posts: 1284
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Small Google search looking for optimistic results ;)

http://www.briskoda.net/forums/topic/180472-broken-ecu/

Have faith :)

Paul


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 9:32 pm 
Offline
Out of the closet
Out of the closet

Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 1:40 am
Posts: 6276
Location: Southport
Drives: Ash Black Fiesta si 1.4
Thanks Paul, if the ecu comes back ok, i'll have a good check over the wiring! briskoda are fucking useless when it comes to helping you lol.
I still have the codes if you still want them or was that for research purposes?

_________________
Image
fifi


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 12:00 am 
Offline
Elite FSI Poster
Elite FSI Poster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 1:21 pm
Posts: 1284
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Send them over mate, always interested in shit like that!! ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 1:36 pm 
Offline
Driving Gods
Driving Gods
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:37 pm
Posts: 7771
Location: Manchester
Drives: C2 VTS
Post them up, I want a look.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 12:37 pm 
Offline
Out of the closet
Out of the closet

Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 1:40 am
Posts: 6276
Location: Southport
Drives: Ash Black Fiesta si 1.4
Okay, so they are as follows...

17932 - Fuel Pump Relay (J17): Open or Short to Ground
P1524 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent
18027 - Glow Plug Relay (J52): Open or Short to Ground
P1619 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent
17957 - Boost Pressure Regulation Valve (N75): Open or Short to Ground
P1549 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent
17849 - EGR Valve Open N18 Circuit or Short to Ground
P1441 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent
19561 - Valve for Intake Manifold Flap (N239): Open or Short to Ground
P3105 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent

I managed to nurse it to a mate of mine who owns a company called samtech performance. Really clued up on his stuff. Plugged it into VCDS and nothing was wrong. Had shot myself in the foot because i'd had the ecu out for a while so it had reset. So i drove away with either a fixed issue or one that was going to happen again. Luckily 100 yards down his road it cut out. Got it back and the same fault codes came up as above. However we tested several times, each time it struggled to connect with the ecu. So that suggested that there could be a fault in the ECU. So we deleted the codes, got it back home when it cut out as i pulled up, very lucky.

So sending the ecu to him

_________________
Image
fifi


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2014 10:41 am 
Offline
Elite FSI Poster
Elite FSI Poster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 1:21 pm
Posts: 1284
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
I would definitely check all wiring around the ecu as it's a wiring fault. It's just whether it's internal to the ecu or external that's to be decided. Give every connection a wiggle to see if any are loose or broken :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:39 pm 
Offline
Out of the closet
Out of the closet

Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 1:40 am
Posts: 6276
Location: Southport
Drives: Ash Black Fiesta si 1.4
This was fixed eventually gents. Ecu repaired, pins cleaned thoroughly and now runs how it did before. Praise the lord

_________________
Image
fifi


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 9:07 am 
Offline
Elite FSI Poster
Elite FSI Poster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 1:21 pm
Posts: 1284
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
:thumbsup:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron