Index Page Find us on Facebook  Find us on twitter  Follow our RSS Feed
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:08 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: hub nut size
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 9:38 am 
Offline
Regular Poster
Regular Poster
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 4:23 pm
Posts: 101
Location: North Wales
Drives: Scooby STi and Zaf
- Danny Boy - wrote:
Ford bolts designs... dont get me started! The one I hated the most was the lower arm bolts. 15mm. The most stupid size ever because most people don't have a 6 sided 15mm socket so they round off. I've bascially replaced most of the bolts on my car for decent sized stainless ones over the years. Got some nice 19mm bolts on the lower arms now. Man size!


I bought a goddam expensive 6 sided 15mm socket for that reason. Never rounded one off since!

Hope you haven't put any stainless in high stress areas.......

EvilDes wrote:
Whereas the Pulsar is 10mm, 12mm, 14mm, 17mm. And they all make sense for the job they're doing. And have access. And don't rust. And don't round off :lol:

Much...


Thats the jap way. I had to buy a load of new tools when I bought my Impreza! Don't forget they also use an odd ball 18mm now and again just to throw you after you've got the 17mm socket ready :lol:



As for odd sizes hows about the 36mm hub nut that Peugeot use on the 206 GTi and HDi. Try finding a socket for a start............. then try to find one under £30, nightmare

_________________
Image

THE FUTURES BRIGHT THE FUTURES BLU :D

Not on my watch..... Pussies!


Last edited by BLU on Tue Oct 30, 2012 9:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: hub nut size
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 9:39 am 
Offline
Evil Admin
Evil Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 8:31 pm
Posts: 13427
Location: Birmingham (near Sutton Coldfield)
Drives: Nissan Pulsar GTi-R
No 18mm on the Pulsar mate :lol:

The only other size is the 32mm for the hub nut, otherwise, EVERYTHING are those sizes :lol:

_________________
Image
Image
Quote Clarkson, Top Gear, 17th July: "I'm not having a stroke... just driving a Nissan!"
Quote Ry, Mallory Park, 3rd Dec: "Ahhhh crap... Just a bit too over eager really!"
"I used to be an adventurer like you, but then I took an arrow in the knee"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: hub nut size
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 9:41 am 
Offline
Regular Poster
Regular Poster
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 4:23 pm
Posts: 101
Location: North Wales
Drives: Scooby STi and Zaf
EvilDes wrote:
No 18mm on the Pulsar mate :lol:

The only other size is the 32mm for the hub nut, otherwise, EVERYTHING are those sizes :lol:


Not that you've found.......yet ;)

_________________
Image

THE FUTURES BRIGHT THE FUTURES BLU :D

Not on my watch..... Pussies!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: hub nut size
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 9:51 am 
Offline
Evil Admin
Evil Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 8:31 pm
Posts: 13427
Location: Birmingham (near Sutton Coldfield)
Drives: Nissan Pulsar GTi-R
Mate, I've had the car in pieces front to back over the 7 years I've owned it... Gearbox, clutch, transfer box, engine out, rear subframe, brakes, turbo, intercooler, inlet manifold, hubs, lower arms, bumpers, exhaust, seats, dash, bonnet vents, front wing, etc etc etc. I don't think there's much left to do on it. Believe me, there's no 18mm! :lol:

_________________
Image
Image
Quote Clarkson, Top Gear, 17th July: "I'm not having a stroke... just driving a Nissan!"
Quote Ry, Mallory Park, 3rd Dec: "Ahhhh crap... Just a bit too over eager really!"
"I used to be an adventurer like you, but then I took an arrow in the knee"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: hub nut size
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 9:59 am 
Offline
Regular Poster
Regular Poster
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 4:23 pm
Posts: 101
Location: North Wales
Drives: Scooby STi and Zaf
EvilDes wrote:
Mate, I've had the car in pieces front to back over the 7 years I've owned it... Gearbox, clutch, transfer box, engine out, rear subframe, brakes, turbo, intercooler, inlet manifold, hubs, lower arms, bumpers, exhaust, seats, dash, bonnet vents, front wing, etc etc etc. I don't think there's much left to do on it. Believe me, there's no 18mm! :lol:


:lol: :lol:

Imprezas do in some odd places, mainly on some of the suspension components.

_________________
Image

THE FUTURES BRIGHT THE FUTURES BLU :D

Not on my watch..... Pussies!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: hub nut size
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 10:02 am 
Offline
Evil Admin
Evil Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 8:31 pm
Posts: 13427
Location: Birmingham (near Sutton Coldfield)
Drives: Nissan Pulsar GTi-R
Oh, I've done the suspension too :lol:

Never worked on an Impreza, my mate had one for a while but he just paid someone to do the work on it :lol:

_________________
Image
Image
Quote Clarkson, Top Gear, 17th July: "I'm not having a stroke... just driving a Nissan!"
Quote Ry, Mallory Park, 3rd Dec: "Ahhhh crap... Just a bit too over eager really!"
"I used to be an adventurer like you, but then I took an arrow in the knee"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: hub nut size
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:33 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 12:40 am
Posts: 7093
Location: Portsmouth
Drives: Fiesta Si 2.0
BLU wrote:
- Danny Boy - wrote:
Ford bolts designs... dont get me started! The one I hated the most was the lower arm bolts. 15mm. The most stupid size ever because most people don't have a 6 sided 15mm socket so they round off. I've bascially replaced most of the bolts on my car for decent sized stainless ones over the years. Got some nice 19mm bolts on the lower arms now. Man size!


I bought a goddam expensive 6 sided 15mm socket for that reason. Never rounded one off since!

Hope you haven't put any stainless in high stress areas.......


12.9 S/S bolts ftw. No rusting and no snapping.

_________________
Image
TTF Si Project thread

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: hub nut size
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 2:03 pm 
Offline
Out of the closet
Out of the closet

Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 1:40 am
Posts: 6276
Location: Southport
Drives: Ash Black Fiesta si 1.4
ive just experienced this first hand.

paul, my pinch bolt had rusted on too haha so it was just the nut off jobby :D

drop link nut wont come off and ive rounded one of the caliper carrier bolts. fml

_________________
Image
fifi


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: hub nut size
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 2:29 pm 
Offline
Evil Admin
Evil Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 8:31 pm
Posts: 13427
Location: Birmingham (near Sutton Coldfield)
Drives: Nissan Pulsar GTi-R
Ahhh, the life of working in the wheel arch of a Ford... :lol:

_________________
Image
Image
Quote Clarkson, Top Gear, 17th July: "I'm not having a stroke... just driving a Nissan!"
Quote Ry, Mallory Park, 3rd Dec: "Ahhhh crap... Just a bit too over eager really!"
"I used to be an adventurer like you, but then I took an arrow in the knee"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: hub nut size
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 2:39 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 12:40 am
Posts: 7093
Location: Portsmouth
Drives: Fiesta Si 2.0
You'll get used to doing that Ben :lol:

_________________
Image
TTF Si Project thread

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: hub nut size
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 4:02 pm 
Offline
Elite FSI Poster
Elite FSI Poster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 1:21 pm
Posts: 1285
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
You will become a master of removing rounded off nuts :)

Although, dont do the school boy error I made when I was prepping to do the coilies, went round the car the day before blasting all the nuts with WD-40 only to then realise that in my half asleep wisdom I had just blasted my brake discs with it too :D

Arse... never mind ay?

Paul


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: hub nut size
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 4:12 pm 
Offline
Evil Admin
Evil Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 8:31 pm
Posts: 13427
Location: Birmingham (near Sutton Coldfield)
Drives: Nissan Pulsar GTi-R
:lol:

WD40 is shit! It evaporates, and isn't as good a penetrating spray as people assume it is. What you need is... a penetrating spray! And WD have just brought out a new range of stuff, degreaser, penetrating spray etc. I tried those two, and they are both EXCELLENT! But if you want the best solution for undoing seized nuts/bolts etc, get yourself some oil, and mix in some diesel. Paint it on with a brush, leave for a bit, and that shit will eat away all the crap. It shifted bolts for me before that would not fucking shift for love nor money.

And don't get too excited about all this talk of penetration Ben, your time will come when you hit puberty...

_________________
Image
Image
Quote Clarkson, Top Gear, 17th July: "I'm not having a stroke... just driving a Nissan!"
Quote Ry, Mallory Park, 3rd Dec: "Ahhhh crap... Just a bit too over eager really!"
"I used to be an adventurer like you, but then I took an arrow in the knee"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: hub nut size
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 4:36 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 12:40 am
Posts: 7093
Location: Portsmouth
Drives: Fiesta Si 2.0
Oil and diesel is amazing for stuff like that.

WD40 degreaer will probably just be WD40 with a minor chemical added. WD40 on its own is enough of a good degreaser. The range of stuff you can use it for with regards to cleaning is mental. Saw on the internet some chavs spray painted a car and the ower tried all sorts to get it off, then whacked some WD40 on a rag and wiped the paint off even after it had been sittng there over night. Of course the paint probably hadnt really set and gone hard or whatever and maybe there was some wax on the car, but it shows it can remove stuff like that :)

_________________
Image
TTF Si Project thread

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: hub nut size
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 7:34 pm 
Offline
Regular Poster
Regular Poster

Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 5:52 pm
Posts: 431
Location: Plymouth
Drives: Fiesta 1.4 cvh
You lit have it easy! Being a mechanic I have to buy sets of sockets in one go, waste of time and money buying them individually, most vehicles especially vans use 36mm sockets, worst one is pug experts/Citroen dispatch/fiat skudos front hub nuts, 36mm socket.... In a tapered hole, so you need to put your socket in a lave and turn down the first 10mm of the outside of the socket so it fits in the hub, brilliant when a Halfords socket is £28 and a snap on socket is £50, then transit connects front brakes top sliding bolt (the 7mm Allen key) you need a 6 inch long Allen key to fit as ford in all there wisdom put the brake pipe in the wrong place in the caliper.
Fords are one of the easiest vehicles to work on for space and how things are laid out, French and Italian vehicles are the worst, anyone ever changed a clutch in a pug 307 with a DV6 engine? You have to remove the radiator, turbo heatsheilds, turbo, cat converter and diesel particulate filter to remove 1 bolt from the bell housing.
12 sided sockets are an utter waste of time too as 80% of the time they round off the nut or bolt, all manufacturers shud use either male torx or multi spline for bolts, that way you would get good leverage without rounding anything off, even if its seized, as for penetrating fluid, wd 40 is rubbish, we buy the trade pack in work which we poor in to a spray bottle, I always mix it with diesel, works a thousand times better, never heard of mixing it with old oil but I'll give it a go.

Rant over


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: hub nut size
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 8:09 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 12:40 am
Posts: 7093
Location: Portsmouth
Drives: Fiesta Si 2.0
I'll have to dig out some of the sockets and spanners from when I was a mechanic and post pics up lol. A lot of them was modified. Especailly for building and repairing kit cars.

_________________
Image
TTF Si Project thread

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: hub nut size
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 10:11 am 
Offline
Out of the closet
Out of the closet

Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 1:40 am
Posts: 6276
Location: Southport
Drives: Ash Black Fiesta si 1.4
well i got the first side sorted, thinking yeah, other side will be a breeze, then that all happened haha!
ive been going through a lot of wd40, so i will certainly look at getting some proper shit.

i find whacking the socket with the ratchet on, or just a spanner, and tapping it with a mallet, works a treat... well not this time aha!

will be having a crack later, then i can get rolling again! hehe

and des, i will show you my pubes at sixfields to prove you wrong hoe! ;)

_________________
Image
fifi


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: hub nut size
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 3:14 pm 
Offline
Regular Poster
Regular Poster
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 4:23 pm
Posts: 101
Location: North Wales
Drives: Scooby STi and Zaf
- Danny Boy - wrote:
12.9 S/S bolts ftw. No rusting and no snapping.


Where did you get them from?

......stainless is not available in 12.9 grade. They use different grades for stainless steel.

_________________
Image

THE FUTURES BRIGHT THE FUTURES BLU :D

Not on my watch..... Pussies!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: hub nut size
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 3:25 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 12:40 am
Posts: 7093
Location: Portsmouth
Drives: Fiesta Si 2.0
Screwfix. They probably aren't stainless then, even though when I ordered them online for pickup they said stainless, which is why I got them. Probably just 12.9 BZP then :lol:

_________________
Image
TTF Si Project thread

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: hub nut size
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 5:14 pm 
Offline
Out of the closet
Out of the closet

Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 1:40 am
Posts: 6276
Location: Southport
Drives: Ash Black Fiesta si 1.4
just had a screwfix open near me, going shopping there next week for bolts etc!

_________________
Image
fifi


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron