Index Page Find us on Facebook  Find us on twitter  Follow our RSS Feed
It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:28 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: MAF sensors
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 12:50 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:28 pm
Posts: 4828
Location: Doncaster!
Drives: V70 T5
I've managed to get my 2ltr maf sensor onto the k&n pipe, plumbed it onto engine, now it runs wank. i think the sensor is fooked. anyone know if it is possible just to change the element from my old one to the new one?
JJ


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 1:42 pm 
Offline
French Tickler
French Tickler

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 7:46 pm
Posts: 4451
Location: Woodville : Burton
Drives: 170bhp RS
iv heard that the 2L maf doesnt work, which is weird. i was gonna buy one with a 2L t/b too to try and get the damn thing moving a bit quicker, but not found one yet. its something to do with the ecu.

as for taking the sensor off the casing and putting your 1.6 one back on, no idea matey. i can see your logic, but i cant offer advice. see if you can get a 130spec 1800 one and test that to see if it works. if it does, whoop. :rolleyes: fat lot of good i am! haha.

if you've not got a 2L t/b on it, get one. Sy has said its pretty good and evened out his flat spots. :)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 1:45 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:28 pm
Posts: 4828
Location: Doncaster!
Drives: V70 T5
i got given the MAF sensor from a mate, said it didnt work quite right on is mondy.
it's off the turbo diseasel mody though, but apparently they're the same, it's bloody massive compared to 1.6 one. gonna get some security torx bits today or tomorow and have a try
JJ


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 2:18 pm 
Offline
French Tickler
French Tickler

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 7:46 pm
Posts: 4451
Location: Woodville : Burton
Drives: 170bhp RS
ring ford and ask if its the same. but if its a turbo diesel, air flow works in a different manner so its quite different. example; on a turbo petrol engine you have the MAP sensor as opposed to the MAF sensor, as its decectingthe pressure the air is being blown into the chamber. i dont know enough about diesels though but id assume it would be different.

:)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 2:42 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:28 pm
Posts: 4828
Location: Doncaster!
Drives: V70 T5
phyiscally its the same idea, air passes through and cools the 2 elements telling the ECU how much air is there. just took the element out of my spare 1.6 one and put it in the mondy one, fits straight in. gonna try it when i get back home from parents. will let ya know how i get on.
Tell ya summat though it was a pain in the arse to get on the carryover pipe.

JJ


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 5:47 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:28 pm
Posts: 4828
Location: Doncaster!
Drives: V70 T5
swapped them over, seems to idle ok, and off load revving is fine, doesnt have a delay like last time.
Will let you know after road test.
JJ


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 2:38 am 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:28 pm
Posts: 4828
Location: Doncaster!
Drives: V70 T5
just got in after a night in car. drove a bit flat to start with, but it seems to have learnt as the night went on, seems to have a bit more go in bottom end but when it hits 4000 it pulls perfect.
Well worth it, next step is 2ltr throttle body
JJ


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 2:46 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:28 pm
Posts: 4828
Location: Doncaster!
Drives: V70 T5
Right bit of an update, didnt notice it at first but it's got a major flatspot at about 4000rpm so i've unplugged it and it runs sweet now.
My logic behind this. as standard its got a tiny MAF and a tiny T/b, i've increased the MAF size but the T/b is still the same. therefore no more air can get into inlet the really without a turbo etc.
so when it's unplugged it reverts to basic map and runs off Lambda and TPS. so it shouldnt over/under fuel.
JJ

_________________
My ebay stuff http://shop.ebay.co.uk/merchant/2.0zetec
ImageImage

Is that the best you can do?
www.volvot5.co.uk - www.germanshepherdsuk.co.uk
2000 V70 T5 SE - 2.3, 5 cylinder, 20V, VVT, Turbo, 250bhp, cream leather, climate control, the works!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 12:30 am 
Offline
Elite FSI Poster
Elite FSI Poster

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:10 pm
Posts: 1336
Location: Nottingham
Alright fella got a 2'0ltr Tb on i mine and it runs sweet. been look for a MAS sensor but no luck. read this on FT and kinda put me off as i didn't have a jar of glue what they were on about, and it sounded like quite a task. hope this helps let me know how you get on.

http://www.fiestaturbo.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=97909

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 1:55 am 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:28 pm
Posts: 4828
Location: Doncaster!
Drives: V70 T5
read my post to thhat
JJ

_________________
My ebay stuff http://shop.ebay.co.uk/merchant/2.0zetec
ImageImage

Is that the best you can do?
www.volvot5.co.uk - www.germanshepherdsuk.co.uk
2000 V70 T5 SE - 2.3, 5 cylinder, 20V, VVT, Turbo, 250bhp, cream leather, climate control, the works!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 12:31 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:28 pm
Posts: 4828
Location: Doncaster!
Drives: V70 T5
put simply, thats bollocks.
it does run with the 2ltr on, lumpy, but it runs.
you could change the element out of it for the 1.6 one, but you'll hit a flatspot at 4000rpm.
I've unplugged mine, works fine, pulls well, and is a bit louder
JJ

_________________
My ebay stuff http://shop.ebay.co.uk/merchant/2.0zetec
ImageImage

Is that the best you can do?
www.volvot5.co.uk - www.germanshepherdsuk.co.uk
2000 V70 T5 SE - 2.3, 5 cylinder, 20V, VVT, Turbo, 250bhp, cream leather, climate control, the works!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 5:37 pm 
Offline
Elite FSI Poster
Elite FSI Poster

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:10 pm
Posts: 1336
Location: Nottingham
would you recommend doing it and have you got a 2'0ltr tb on aswell

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 6:02 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:28 pm
Posts: 4828
Location: Doncaster!
Drives: V70 T5
nah not got t/b yet, on the look out for one cheap though.
just wanna get it as ready as possible for the 2ltr engine
JJ

_________________
My ebay stuff http://shop.ebay.co.uk/merchant/2.0zetec
ImageImage

Is that the best you can do?
www.volvot5.co.uk - www.germanshepherdsuk.co.uk
2000 V70 T5 SE - 2.3, 5 cylinder, 20V, VVT, Turbo, 250bhp, cream leather, climate control, the works!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 11:41 am 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:28 pm
Posts: 4828
Location: Doncaster!
Drives: V70 T5
here ya go mate, proof if proof was needed that it works unplugged


2ltr MAF
JJ

_________________
My ebay stuff http://shop.ebay.co.uk/merchant/2.0zetec
ImageImage

Is that the best you can do?
www.volvot5.co.uk - www.germanshepherdsuk.co.uk
2000 V70 T5 SE - 2.3, 5 cylinder, 20V, VVT, Turbo, 250bhp, cream leather, climate control, the works!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron