Index Page Find us on Facebook  Find us on twitter  Follow our RSS Feed
It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 11:31 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 10:34 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 1570
Location: Oxfordshire, Banbury
Out of interest..

What sort of rev's in 3rd gear does you Fiesta SI 1.6 16v "drop off" ?

Mine seems to be dropping off slightly at 4000 revs in 3rd gear,
Picking up from 4000 in 4th gear, dying off at 4500 in 4th.
Taking the revs from 4500 to 5000 in 5th gear and slowing increasing upward.

But it seems a bit sluggish.. maybe Im expecting too much? (Not had the car all that long)
Paul


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 10:55 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:28 pm
Posts: 4828
Location: Doncaster!
Drives: V70 T5
mine seems to pick up at 4000RPM, in any gear. runs out of puff at around 5500 though.
JJ


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 3:05 am 
Offline
Evil Admin
Evil Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 8:31 pm
Posts: 13427
Location: Birmingham (near Sutton Coldfield)
Drives: Nissan Pulsar GTi-R
Mine picks up at around 3k, gets good at 4k and drops off about 5.5-5.8k :)

_________________
Image
Image
Quote Clarkson, Top Gear, 17th July: "I'm not having a stroke... just driving a Nissan!"
Quote Ry, Mallory Park, 3rd Dec: "Ahhhh crap... Just a bit too over eager really!"
"I used to be an adventurer like you, but then I took an arrow in the knee"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 12:13 pm 
Offline
Regular Poster
Regular Poster

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 4:12 pm
Posts: 401
Location: Maldon, Essex
Starts going at about 3k ends around 5.5k i suppose :) 8-)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 1:17 pm 
Offline
French Tickler
French Tickler

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 7:46 pm
Posts: 4451
Location: Woodville : Burton
Drives: 170bhp RS
EvilDes wrote:
Mine picks up at around 3k, gets good at 4k and drops off about 5.5-5.8k :)


same as des :wink: but i have torque all over the revs really, it'll pull from 20mph in 5th eeeeasy. :D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:59 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 3:21 pm
Posts: 1249
Location: Twickenham, Surrey
valvers will always be more efficent at producing power higher up the rev range, thats where they were designed to produce the power,

also valvers have a problem with maf sensors causing flat spots at about 3500-4000 rpm, a new maf will usually sort this and help it pull stronger through the rev range

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 5:08 pm 
mine tails off as the rev limiter kicks in :P


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 5:13 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 3:21 pm
Posts: 1249
Location: Twickenham, Surrey
yes but your valver has a turbo bolted to it does help a little bit :devil:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 7:45 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 1570
Location: Oxfordshire, Banbury
Sorry is maf..
a - Mass air flow sensor?

I wouldn't of linked the two together, if maf is an air sensor?..

Where can one find this sensor if thats what it is? Not on the intake?

Let me know please thanks v much :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 8:29 pm 
Offline
French Tickler
French Tickler

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 7:46 pm
Posts: 4451
Location: Woodville : Burton
Drives: 170bhp RS
Image

the thing circled in white is your MAF sensor. yes it's its short for Mass Air Flow sensor, and it tells your ecu how much air is coming into the engine, and mostly likely what tempterature too, but not 100% on it. If it's fault it wont be getting the air/fuel ratio exactly right so will run a little 'off'. :lol: technical term.

the Si has a fair amount of torque between 3k-4k, which is nice to be able to drive with pace without revving the engine hard. but as tony said, to get a 16v to really get going you need to rev it, and hard :devil: i can feel mine really pick up at 4000 ish (hopefully feel it a little more now its chipped) :D

if you're not very happy with it, give it a general service. it could be plugs or leads not giving it great performance. :)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 8:32 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 3:21 pm
Posts: 1249
Location: Twickenham, Surrey
there you go scotty sorted that, what piower you hoping witht he chip scotty what else you done other than stack it?

oh and uprate your brakes!

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 8:39 pm 
Offline
French Tickler
French Tickler

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 7:46 pm
Posts: 4451
Location: Woodville : Burton
Drives: 170bhp RS
id like close to 100bhp with chip fitler and the magnex. :lol: doubt it'll be that good though. although it does go better than all the others. ill have it rolling roaded when i can to see whats it chucking out.

brakes are on the list when the 15s are on. 4x4 cossies dont fit under the pimpin' 14s 8-)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 11:36 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 1570
Location: Oxfordshire, Banbury
Thnx for those pointers scotty,

yeah next step is the plugs as i dont think they have been done for a long time.

Already given it a oil filter and oil change.

The air flow sensor was already on the "induction kit" when i bought it so i may swap it for the sensor that was on the original air box/intake pipe.

Leads look ok so wont both with them, might check them for resistence but really doubt its them.

Going to book the car in at work for plugs changed,
Change them myself at work, if one happens to snap.. oh dear, not my problem, companies problem, let them sort it out *angel*

Paul.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 11:57 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 3:21 pm
Posts: 1249
Location: Twickenham, Surrey
nice attitude and why not. prob worth changing your leads aswell they dont cost much well not as much as mine ?60 a set from ford :o and special order :x

they do thend to break down inside though but you'll still get a spark as its strong enough to jump gaps will just be weaker.

hope it all goes well

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 8:29 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 1570
Location: Oxfordshire, Banbury
Got some lucas silicone type leads off eBay, don't suppose they are anything special but might do the trick.

Got some ngk sparks from halfrauds, just gota spray half a can of spray stuff in each to loosen them off, they are incredibly tight..

Paul


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 4:32 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:28 pm
Posts: 4828
Location: Doncaster!
Drives: V70 T5
apparently the best leads to use are standard ford ones, dont know how much they are though.
but tony's right they can break down but still give a spark. just not a good one.
JJ

_________________
My ebay stuff http://shop.ebay.co.uk/merchant/2.0zetec
ImageImage

Is that the best you can do?
www.volvot5.co.uk - www.germanshepherdsuk.co.uk
2000 V70 T5 SE - 2.3, 5 cylinder, 20V, VVT, Turbo, 250bhp, cream leather, climate control, the works!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:06 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 1570
Location: Oxfordshire, Banbury
I whacked some NGK plugs in, and put the lucas leads on, with standard leads but new plugs it was a bit more torquey, and with new leads just felt smoother which is always good!

so yeh i think it quite likes me for changing the plugs now.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron