Index Page Find us on Facebook  Find us on twitter  Follow our RSS Feed
It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 7:47 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 1:15 pm 
Offline
New Member
New Member

Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:20 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Bedfordshire
Does anyone have or can tell me where I can find a guide for fitting carbs or throttle bodies?

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 8:01 pm 
Offline
Regular Poster
Regular Poster

Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 11:46 pm
Posts: 459
havent got a guide or anything but i have put webbers on mine and it suprisingly simple to put the carbs on i didnt do the wiring for them but that seems easy enough aswell any questions just ask :thumbsup:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 10:29 pm 
Offline
FSI Poster
FSI Poster

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:43 pm
Posts: 888
Location: Norwich
Drives: 2litre Si
RacingMick wrote:
Does anyone have or can tell me where I can find a guide for fitting carbs or throttle bodies?

Cheers


as above what sort of thing are you thinking of doing? think a few have done it. ive fitted gsxr throttle bodies with the standard ford ECU on a 2litre zetec and motorbike carbs on a 1600CVH.

some info here

http://www.linktobusiness.co.uk/forums/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=1960

post any questions

_________________
Will
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:40 am 
Offline
New Member
New Member

Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:20 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Bedfordshire
Will, I am looking at fitting motorbike bodies to a 1600 si and later to a Mondeo 2.0 when I swop the engines over. I have only had a quick glance at the guide but it looks impressive.

Questions so far:

Did you use the original fuel rail and injectors?

I was under the impression that you had to use an aftermarket ECU, what ECU have you used, DESK?

Which fuel regulator did you use?

What air filters did you go for?

I'm sure I will have many more questions as I can have a bit of a brain block :|


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 1:05 pm 
Offline
FSI Poster
FSI Poster

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:43 pm
Posts: 888
Location: Norwich
Drives: 2litre Si
have a look at my thread below (will get round to doing a guide) for a bit more insight into how ive done it, it works for me and now at 150bhp. but in the usual get out clause way it worked for my but cant guarentee it!
http://www.fiesta-si.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=13734&hilit=throttle+bodies


Answers to Questions so far:

Did you use the original fuel rail and injectors?

Yes

I was under the impression that you had to use an aftermarket ECU, what ECU have you used, DESK?

no used the standard ECU with all sensors and MAF @150bhp, if you want to run without the MAF think this is when you will need aftermarket ECU. But with the setup i currently have with a aftermarket ECU should expect to see 160bhp plus but thats £750 for 10bhp more

Which fuel regulator did you use?

standard one on the end of the fuel rail

What air filters did you go for?

cone filter as used the standard MAF as pictures


there are lots of other ways in achieving the same goal, the individual throttle bodies added about 10bhp and alowed it to rev a lot higher as RR graphs show, wether you would see any great gains on a 1.6 as if the throttle body is a restriction, could just replace with larger 1.8 one.

_________________
Will
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 8:33 am 
Offline
New Member
New Member

Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:20 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Bedfordshire
Will, as you used the original fuel rail and injectors, I'm guessing that you used the original manifold? If you did, did you have to do any modifications?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 8:58 pm 
Offline
Regular Poster
Regular Poster

Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 11:46 pm
Posts: 459
you can use the oringnal exhaust manifold but need a inlet well i did for the webbers

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 10:54 pm 
Offline
FSI Poster
FSI Poster

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:43 pm
Posts: 888
Location: Norwich
Drives: 2litre Si
RacingMick wrote:
Will, as you used the original fuel rail and injectors, I'm guessing that you used the original manifold? If you did, did you have to do any modifications?

the injectors are in a separate sandwich plate to the manifold which i reused and made a new manifold which connected to this with the throttle bodies will add more photos to explain better in morning.

picture of the manifold and separate injector sandwich plate
Image

i reused the sandwich plate and made my own manifold to attach the throttle bodies
Image

and then a plenum chamber made out of fibreglass
Image

but ive seen pictures where others have used the orignal sandwich plate and cut down the inlet manifold about 50mm up to just the individual tubes are left and mounted the throttle bodies with hose to this as shown in this thread. (im sure ther are more pictures on here somewhere)

http://www.fiesta-si.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=13439

_________________
Will
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron