Index Page Find us on Facebook  Find us on twitter  Follow our RSS Feed
It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:08 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 1.8 maf on 1.6 si
PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 9:35 pm 
Offline
New Member
New Member

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 8:55 pm
Posts: 18
Location: essex
just got a 1.8 maf sencer put it on earlyer with it pluged in wouldnt run but unplug it runs fine should there be power increase thoe. will the engine get damaged with the 1.8 maf and it being unplugged

_________________
if aint low enough cut the springs sorted


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 1:11 am 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:28 pm
Posts: 4828
Location: Doncaster!
Drives: V70 T5
is it off the gti or xr3i 130? if not then it's the same as the 1.6. it should work plugged in.
JJ

_________________
My ebay stuff http://shop.ebay.co.uk/merchant/2.0zetec
ImageImage

Is that the best you can do?
www.volvot5.co.uk - www.germanshepherdsuk.co.uk
2000 V70 T5 SE - 2.3, 5 cylinder, 20V, VVT, Turbo, 250bhp, cream leather, climate control, the works!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 3:23 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 3:21 pm
Posts: 1249
Location: Twickenham, Surrey
shouldn't run without and the 2.0, GTi, or 130ps XR, RS1800 mafs will make a little bit of difference but nothing you'll really notice

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 4:39 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:28 pm
Posts: 4828
Location: Doncaster!
Drives: V70 T5
TonyBlackFRST wrote:
shouldn't run without and the 2.0, GTi, or 130ps XR, RS1800 mafs will make a little bit of difference but nothing you'll really notice


they should run without it plugged in, but it'll be in 'limp home mode'
any of the larger MAF's will not work correctly with the 1.6 (guru) ECU. plug it in, and if it doesnt die, then it'll run really poor bottom end, but above 4k rpm it seems ok.
i dont know if it would work right with the throttle body too though. might make it even up a bit
JJ

_________________
My ebay stuff http://shop.ebay.co.uk/merchant/2.0zetec
ImageImage

Is that the best you can do?
www.volvot5.co.uk - www.germanshepherdsuk.co.uk
2000 V70 T5 SE - 2.3, 5 cylinder, 20V, VVT, Turbo, 250bhp, cream leather, climate control, the works!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: maf
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 7:45 pm 
Offline
New Member
New Member

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 8:55 pm
Posts: 18
Location: essex
maf woz off a 1.8 mondeo didnt really notice anything just a bit louder only worked with it unplugged running well rich poping and banging off accelraction. even swaped the 1.6 sencer over to it still run crap big flat spot.just wanted a bit more power would a induction kit give any power and a loud roar if yer which induction kit is the loudest?.or would a panel filter with a drilled air box with a cold feed going in to the box be louder and better power

_________________
if aint low enough cut the springs sorted


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: maf
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 7:52 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:28 pm
Posts: 4828
Location: Doncaster!
Drives: V70 T5
danny boy wrote:
maf woz off a 1.8 mondeo didnt really notice anything just a bit louder only worked with it unplugged running well rich poping and banging off accelraction. even swaped the 1.6 sencer over to it still run crap big flat spot.just wanted a bit more power would a induction kit give any power and a loud roar if yer which induction kit is the loudest?.or would a panel filter with a drilled air box with a cold feed going in to the box be louder and better power


about 3.5k rpm? sounds similar to mine when i had it plugged in. unplugged it and it ran ok ish, still seemed a bit poor low down though. i've put the 1.6 one back on now, until i get a 2ltr MAF too.
JJ

_________________
My ebay stuff http://shop.ebay.co.uk/merchant/2.0zetec
ImageImage

Is that the best you can do?
www.volvot5.co.uk - www.germanshepherdsuk.co.uk
2000 V70 T5 SE - 2.3, 5 cylinder, 20V, VVT, Turbo, 250bhp, cream leather, climate control, the works!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 11:57 pm 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 3:21 pm
Posts: 1249
Location: Twickenham, Surrey
sorry meant you shouldn't run without the maf sensor.

an adjustab;e fuel pressure regulator would sort out the flat spot though

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 12:07 am 
Offline
FSI Supporter
FSI Supporter

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:28 pm
Posts: 4828
Location: Doncaster!
Drives: V70 T5
TonyBlackFRST wrote:
sorry meant you shouldn't run without the maf sensor.

an adjustab;e fuel pressure regulator would sort out the flat spot though


i was thinking that, but that means spending money, might just put jubilee clip round fuel return, lol.
jj

_________________
My ebay stuff http://shop.ebay.co.uk/merchant/2.0zetec
ImageImage

Is that the best you can do?
www.volvot5.co.uk - www.germanshepherdsuk.co.uk
2000 V70 T5 SE - 2.3, 5 cylinder, 20V, VVT, Turbo, 250bhp, cream leather, climate control, the works!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron