Fiesta-Si.com
http://www.fiesta-si.com/forums/

using st170 inlet for bike carbs
http://www.fiesta-si.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=25037
Page 1 of 1

Author:  iowracer [ Sat Apr 20, 2013 7:48 pm ]
Post subject:  using st170 inlet for bike carbs

Hi I've picked up a st170 inlet for my bike conversion, the problem I know is my yamaha thundercat carbs don't line up with the ports. Would it be possible to fit different angled silicone pipes. Instead of spacing out the carbs because that would cause the carbs to be unballanced and more work for me. We have carb runners on here don't we. Mines a 2.0 silverstop looking to run st170 inlet with thundercat yamaha carbs. Any idea what size I need to drill the jets out to? I am running piper fast road cams so maybe abit more then standard 2.0's and also the correct needle height for afr. The car has a 421 manifold and scorpion exhaust if that helps.. Need answers guys please help....

Author:  will121 [ Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: using st170 inlet for bike carbs

Would it be possible to fit different angled silicone pipes.

yes but another issue may be space available to get the manifold, longer silicone hoses, carb sand a filter

Instead of spacing out the carbs because that would cause the carbs to be unballanced and more work for me.

some info on a guide i done about respacing throttle bodies and extending linkages , not a great issue with the carbs going out of ballance as still adjustable more work is possibly extending interconnection fuel rail.
http://www.fiesta-si.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=17588

Any idea what size I need to drill the jets out to?

i would say about 1.7mm but a rough guess only real way is either a RR setup or a lamba gauge. i managed to set my 1600cvh up quite well man jets (full throttle) needle position (mid throttle) and air screws (idle) on road with a narrow band sensor and LED indicator gauge.

Author:  iowracer [ Sun Apr 21, 2013 11:34 am ]
Post subject:  Re: using st170 inlet for bike carbs

Cheers for reply I did think about 1.7 mainjets from looking on the kitcar website, I might use foam sock airfilters which will reduce place so maybe the carbs will work, I would like to use megajolt but with not a lot of work on ill have to settle with the ecs module. A air fuel gauge would screw into my lambda hole and tell me if I'm running lean or rich but only the wideband telling me which way. The only way to find out if I have enough room is to give it ago.

Oh could you also give some information about connecting up the throttle cable for the carbs. Pictures would be great and maybe other peoples carb pictures using 170 inlet or differnt airfilters. Thank

Author:  will121 [ Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: using st170 inlet for bike carbs

I used the throttle bodies/carb original trumpets, ali back plate and thin panel filter dont think filter socks are ment to be to good for air flow, also made a bracket to use the standard throttle cable, the narrow band lamba sensor/indicator i used has a row or LED's which went from red green amber and showed lean mixture correct and rich and was good enough for basic jet settings however the wide band i now have running fuel injection is lots better but for about 5 time the price

Image


Image


Image

Image

Author:  iowracer [ Sun Apr 21, 2013 10:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: using st170 inlet for bike carbs

many thanks will i will defo look into doing them type of mods. great looking setup

Author:  AWOL [ Tue Mar 04, 2014 6:22 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: using st170 inlet for bike carbs

heres my setup

going to be running these on my 1.8 silvertop with microsquirt V3

Image

Image

Author:  elPaulio [ Wed Mar 05, 2014 7:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: using st170 inlet for bike carbs

Looks lush mate, nice setup and looks similar to what is was going to do with GSX-R ITBs :thumbsup:

Author:  elPaulio [ Wed Mar 05, 2014 7:20 am ]
Post subject:  Re: using st170 inlet for bike carbs

How are you going to route the throttle cable??

Author:  AWOL [ Wed Mar 05, 2014 12:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: using st170 inlet for bike carbs

elPaulio wrote:
Looks lush mate, nice setup and looks similar to what i was going to do with GSX-R ITBs :thumbsup:


thanks mate

they are gsx-r 1000 k1 itbs

going to have a re model on the fuel rail and change the fuel pressure regulator, underneath this set up is the iscv which has been modified to be remote, still have to find somewhere to mount the air temp sensor and build a vacuum manifold to clean up some of the pipes a little better.

I have fabricated a bracket on the existing bracket to fit a ford throttle cable

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/