Index Page Find us on Facebook  Find us on twitter  Follow our RSS Feed
It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 10:26 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Gauge pods, where?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 9:16 am 
Offline
Donator? Ejaculator!
Donator? Ejaculator!

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 1:23 pm
Posts: 11348
Location: Lincoln
Drives: MK1 Focus Estate Ghia
Right I'm going to add 4 gauges to the si soon.

Oil temp
Oil pressure
Water temp
Voltage

The voltage gauge is not an issue as I'm going to mount that lower down in the coin tray or somewhere like that as its not vital.

The other 3 I want in view while driving.

Will 3 fit on the a pillar with no problem without obscuring visability?

I do not want to lose the heater vents of clock, nor do I want them in the passenger side where the optional airbags fits.

Maybe 2 on the dial surround either side, then one (or the voltage too) on the a pillar?

_________________
Daily isn't so Special. And it makes me sad.
Need space and time and I'll crack on with Jams si!

Catch me on Facebook as I'm rarely on here.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Gauge pods, where?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 12:39 pm 
Offline
Poster
Poster

Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:57 pm
Posts: 80
you can fit 3 on the pillar, i couldnt find a 3 pod when i wanted one so i got 2 on the pillar and monted one next to them on the speedo surround.

i used oil pressure, air/fuel and volts


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Gauge pods, where?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 12:44 pm 
Offline
Donator? Ejaculator!
Donator? Ejaculator!

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 1:23 pm
Posts: 11348
Location: Lincoln
Drives: MK1 Focus Estate Ghia
Got a pic?

_________________
Daily isn't so Special. And it makes me sad.
Need space and time and I'll crack on with Jams si!

Catch me on Facebook as I'm rarely on here.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Gauge pods, where?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 1:21 pm 
Offline
Jap Crew
Jap Crew

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 6:24 pm
Posts: 11184
Location: In the Shires
Drives: Jap Crap
There are MOT stations that have failed people on obscuring the view with pillar gauge pods in use, though they are complete jobsworths.

_________________
Rest in peace Ben "Jam" Elvin. Gone but never forgotten.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Gauge pods, where?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 1:58 pm 
Offline
Donator? Ejaculator!
Donator? Ejaculator!

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 1:23 pm
Posts: 11348
Location: Lincoln
Drives: MK1 Focus Estate Ghia
If that were a problem I'd just drop the pillar panel for the mot :)

_________________
Daily isn't so Special. And it makes me sad.
Need space and time and I'll crack on with Jams si!

Catch me on Facebook as I'm rarely on here.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Gauge pods, where?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 7:55 pm 
Offline
Poster
Poster

Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:57 pm
Posts: 80
yep

Image

pod not fixed properly yet, have heated screen and need to cut space for the tabs on the glass...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Gauge pods, where?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 8:54 pm 
Offline
Donator? Ejaculator!
Donator? Ejaculator!

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 1:23 pm
Posts: 11348
Location: Lincoln
Drives: MK1 Focus Estate Ghia
Hmm not sure I'd get on with that

_________________
Daily isn't so Special. And it makes me sad.
Need space and time and I'll crack on with Jams si!

Catch me on Facebook as I'm rarely on here.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Gauge pods, where?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 9:00 pm 
Offline
Poster
Poster

Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:57 pm
Posts: 80
its not soo bad, but you could use the same space where your gonna put you volts guage, i seen a 3 gauge set up that will go in


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Gauge pods, where?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 9:12 pm 
Offline
Poster
Poster

Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:57 pm
Posts: 80
Ebay Linky

should fit nice in the coin tray area...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Gauge pods, where?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 11:36 pm 
Offline
Donator? Ejaculator!
Donator? Ejaculator!

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 1:23 pm
Posts: 11348
Location: Lincoln
Drives: MK1 Focus Estate Ghia
Volts aren't as important so I'm happy for that to be out the way, want the others in view.

Might put 2 around the speedo surround and maybe one on the a pillar... don't want them in the way..

Could lose the heater tho I suppose as I don't use that vent often, and move the clock elsewhere..

_________________
Daily isn't so Special. And it makes me sad.
Need space and time and I'll crack on with Jams si!

Catch me on Facebook as I'm rarely on here.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Gauge pods, where?
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 1:41 am 
Offline
Regular Poster
Regular Poster

Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:42 pm
Posts: 350
how about getting another dashboard and customising a simple 3 pod gauge holder onto the squared part of the dashboard on the centre of the dash nearish to the clocks would look almost like cosworth style if you know what i mean


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Gauge pods, where?
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 10:49 am 
Offline
Donator? Ejaculator!
Donator? Ejaculator!

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 1:23 pm
Posts: 11348
Location: Lincoln
Drives: MK1 Focus Estate Ghia
Yeah that's a good plan tbh.

Just need a dash lol

_________________
Daily isn't so Special. And it makes me sad.
Need space and time and I'll crack on with Jams si!

Catch me on Facebook as I'm rarely on here.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Gauge pods, where?
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 12:42 pm 
Offline
Poster
Poster

Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:57 pm
Posts: 80
yea i like that, only problem i find with guages you want in view, you got nowhere to put em!!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Gauge pods, where?
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 1:30 pm 
Offline
Jap Crew
Jap Crew

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 6:24 pm
Posts: 11184
Location: In the Shires
Drives: Jap Crap
my oil temp, pressure and boost are totally out of view which is annoying.

I'm changing them soon though so that my boost is on a pillar pod along with my AFR, and I'm sticking my volts where my boost is now.

_________________
Rest in peace Ben "Jam" Elvin. Gone but never forgotten.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Gauge pods, where?
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 2:21 pm 
Offline
FSI Poster
FSI Poster

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:43 pm
Posts: 888
Location: Norwich
Drives: 2litre Si
I looked at getting one of these, but the rev counter element would be surplus to you

Multifunction Display Gauge 6 in 1

Link: Ebay Linky

_________________
Will
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron