Index Page Find us on Facebook  Find us on twitter  Follow our RSS Feed
It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:21 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 8:42 pm 
hey guys, you may know, i have a 130spec 1.8 zetec in the Si

looking for that step up, so im looking at cams as theyre the first cost effective thing on the list


currently eyeing up some Piper cams

first off is this mid range fast road cams, http://www.pipercams.co.uk/pipercams/www/product.php?pid=ZETABP270BH

provides a 16bhp increase (im guessing its refering to the 2.0 as you wont gain that with a 1.6 thats for sure)
opens the power band up and is quite a high lift


or we have this mild pair, http://www.pipercams.co.uk/pipercams/www/product.php?pid=ZETABP270AH

produce 12bhp more peak, and again opening the power band up,


now, would it be worth considering the more power ones? whats the downside? all i know is harsh cams can cause a lumpy hunting on idle, i have that already atm so doutb that would be an issue

also do i consider a cam kit, which comes with the lube, timing disc (which i have no idea how to use atm) and followers/tappets)
whats the perks of using theyre tappets?


do i need to run new cams in? im guessing so


thank you please :)

ill look around for other brands, i know burton powers are a bit expensive compared


Top
  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 8:47 pm 
Offline
David Dickinson's Naughty Bit
David Dickinson's Naughty Bit
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 9:08 pm
Posts: 8806
Location: Bournemouth
Drives: Fiesta ZS
I'll go by my ZS experience here as I have a small amount of Zetec knowledge but more specific to my engine/cams.

If you get blanks you SHOULD be ok with valve clearance etc so shouldn't need anything else for that, if you get repros you'll need to get different buckets.

Go for the best you can really, if your gonna spend the cash you might as well get the good ones, they don't require anything else i'm sure bar a remap probably to get the best so why not.

You can hear my idle at the weekend and even though people just think its broken I think its lush :lol:

Lube you can get on ebay for about £9 for a tube and it's last me two fittings with loads left, in fact if I remember you can have mine.

Running cams in, 20 minuites at 2.5k, boring and long process and mine caught fire at 18 minuites, but is needed.

I don't know much but if those cams have power past the limiter you'll need it gone at the remap and Omex Rev limiter (may as well get LC while your there..)

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 8:48 pm 
oooh! just noticed it said the 12bhp/16bhp increase is in regards to a 1.6 testing

imagine what it can do for a 1.8/2.0 :halo:


Top
  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 8:50 pm 
Offline
Jap Crew
Jap Crew

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 6:24 pm
Posts: 11184
Location: In the Shires
Drives: Jap Crap
I'd assume the 16bhp figure is the average increase over the 1800‑6800 power band your engine has, and not just peak? Also that figure would definitely be after a remap as well. I wonder if you can get uprated valve springs and retainers in at the same time and squeeze out an extra 1000/1500rpm or so, as long as the cams can still produce some kind of power up top? Now doing all that really would do a lot more for your power band.

Also Burton power may be expensive, but I've never heard a bad word about them - You get what you pay for. :)

_________________
Rest in peace Ben "Jam" Elvin. Gone but never forgotten.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 8:52 pm 
Offline
David Dickinson's Naughty Bit
David Dickinson's Naughty Bit
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 9:08 pm
Posts: 8806
Location: Bournemouth
Drives: Fiesta ZS
The ones on the top of the link you sent say "for 130BHP engine"

I wouldn't get ones that are for 1.6/1.8/2.0 personally as there not going to be as good for your engine as there made for lower powered ones as well.

Thats what I was told when I thought about piper cams that were for 1.25/1.4/1.6

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:14 pm 
Offline
Driving Gods
Driving Gods
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:37 pm
Posts: 7771
Location: Manchester
Drives: C2 VTS
I had the piper fast road in mine, did the trick.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:16 pm 
Chris_ZS wrote:
The ones on the top of the link you sent say "for 130BHP engine"

I wouldn't get ones that are for 1.6/1.8/2.0 personally as there not going to be as good for your engine as there made for lower powered ones as well.

Thats what I was told when I thought about piper cams that were for 1.25/1.4/1.6



sorry, the 16bhp one is for the 130 spec yes, the 12 is for each three???


but aye, keep it coming all the info is helping :D


thasts for the pair of cams right? lol not paying £360 each :P


Top
  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:25 pm 
Offline
David Dickinson's Naughty Bit
David Dickinson's Naughty Bit
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 9:08 pm
Posts: 8806
Location: Bournemouth
Drives: Fiesta ZS
Yeah it'll be for the pair.

the ones giving 12bhp then are the ones that you don't really wanna be spending cash on imo, the lower power will probably be because of the strain the cam will put on a 1.6 if it was made to give 2.0s more power. If you understand what i'm trying to say? Just guess work but makes sense. straing a 1.6 with cams that are made to push a 2.0 you'll have problems so there toned down.

Either way, get blanks and get them for your engine specifically

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:51 pm 
Offline
FSI Poster
FSI Poster

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:43 pm
Posts: 888
Location: Norwich
Drives: 2litre Si
Newman cams are also worth a look, bit cheaper than piper. I Fitted their 270 cams and was good driveable response but did need clearance cut into the head so if leaving head in place and just swapping cams would go for the lesser ones, don't get caught in just looking at max power gains as if a road car also about driveability.
To get most from any cams would expect a remap is needed. If not going for wild cams normally set at standard cam timing

_________________
Will
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 10:49 pm 
Offline
Regular Poster
Regular Poster

Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 1:25 am
Posts: 304
Location: barnsley
Drives: mk3 si & mk2 mr2
bike throttle bodies would be better for power/cost

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:06 pm 
id look into bike Tb's but im not sure on the management side of it

i have about £400 to spend on the cams so the blanks are a bit out of reach


Top
  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:06 pm 
Offline
David Dickinson's Naughty Bit
David Dickinson's Naughty Bit
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 9:08 pm
Posts: 8806
Location: Bournemouth
Drives: Fiesta ZS
Repros will need valve work.

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:16 pm 
Chris_ZS wrote:
Repros will need valve work.



was just reading newman cams PDF cam guide, repros wont need valve work according to them, just a cam needed

and cams only need running in for the first 25 miles

its hard choosing, phase 1, phase 2??


Top
  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:18 pm 
Newman cams

FORZ/260/400H Fast Road Cam £300.00 Blank
PH2 cams

this one is sounding great, no follows needed but it is recommended, no other work needed, recommedned for a torquey 1.8/2.0 think that fits my profile lovely
my torque is identical to my power atm


newman guide pdf

hehe 1.3 endura cam 108 quid :P


Last edited by Petrol on Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:20 pm 
Offline
David Dickinson's Naughty Bit
David Dickinson's Naughty Bit
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 9:08 pm
Posts: 8806
Location: Bournemouth
Drives: Fiesta ZS
Sounds good. As I say i'm just going by my engine and what is needed might not be true for yours.

Just sit the cams at 2.5k for 20 minuites to run them in, Then go crazy.

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:44 pm 
cat cams
http://www.catcams.co.uk/acatalog/Ford_Zetec_Hydraulic.html


Top
  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:47 pm 
Offline
Driving Gods
Driving Gods
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:37 pm
Posts: 7771
Location: Manchester
Drives: C2 VTS
I was going to say Catcams, they don't even need vernier pulleys. I would go for catcams for the C2.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 12:04 am 
ooo found a unused reground one for £180 :D

or in exchange for your standard cams Autosprint based in birminham can do you a pair for £165 with a duration of 262 degree's for fast road :D

now were talking, i have a pair of standards sitting in the garage lol

need to decide now

opinions?


ok percy, im more interested in ones that done need any other items, such as followers or valves


Top
  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 12:11 am 
Offline
David Dickinson's Naughty Bit
David Dickinson's Naughty Bit
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 9:08 pm
Posts: 8806
Location: Bournemouth
Drives: Fiesta ZS
Wouldn't bother with pulleys either, well I have it to std timing and Shawspeed said "unless your going to be swinging it back and forth for a day or two on the dyno to get it perfect I wouldn't bother"

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 12:46 am 
chris, im fucking confused

you know you quoted 2 others making 151bhp or so with your mods, then you made it, and theres a guy in ff with a mk5 zs making that same figure on very simmilar mods...

wtf is this the max them engines can make or something? as you all keep landing on it lol, its weird


Top
  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron